Wishin’ and Hopin’ and Quiltin’…

This post has been a long, long time in the making. Quite literally.

In August, my mom surprised me for my birthday with private sewing lessons to make the project of my choice. After much deliberation, I finally decided on a rag quilt. Quilting is huge and scary and intimidating and this seemed like a good intro quilt.

The hardest part was gathering the different types of fabric (all flannel) to use and determining the pattern to follow. All in all, it was a long labor of love but in the end, I’m so happy with the results.

Plus, it’s so cozy and warm (did I mention it’s all flannel?!), and a fun addition to our basket of blankets for wintertime — not that I’ve been able to use it at all lately in this 80 degree summertime weather we’re having in January (don’t hate).

Love! I doubt I’ll be making another one anytime soon. I need a break from my machine for a while! But it was a fun one. 🙂

~ by spontaneoustruth on January 30, 2012.

4 Responses to “Wishin’ and Hopin’ and Quiltin’…”

  1. I absolutely love it! I actually just order a basic sewing machine over the weekend, so I’m looking forward to actually making something fun. Hopefully I will actually learn something at my sewing class these next two weeks 🙂

  2. I love the colors! It’s beautiful!

Leave a Reply

