TJ’s Chicken Tortilla Soup

I have a good life. There are a lot of things I love about it — family, friends, job, etc. — all the usual things. But when I really get down to it, one of my favorite things about my life is this:

I live within walking distance of Trader Joe’s.

I mean, really, does life get any better than this? When the store opened a year ago in my neighborhood, I knew I was going to love it. But I never realized how easy it would make my life. I do most of my shopping there now, and one of my first stops upon entering the door? You know it! The sample station!

Best of all is when there is a recipe accompanying the delicious sample (because they are always, without fail, delicious…I’m not sure how; little elves, maybe?). And that’s where I picked up this little gem that has (seriously) become one of my favorite soups ever. And I’m a girl who loves her soups. This is so easy and (obvs) all ingredients can be found at Trader Joe’s. No, they are not paying me in free Two-Buck Chuck for this post…though if they wanted to, I wouldn’t turn it away. This is just a long-term love affair that keeps on giving.

TJ’s Chicken Tortilla Soup

1 carton Trader Joe’s Tomato and Roasted Red Pepper Soup
½ carton vegetable broth (I substituted with some chicken broth I already had on hand)
½ bag frozen roasted corn (or 1 can)
4 cubes of cilantro (or ¼ cup chopped)
1/3 cup Trader Joe’s Habanero & Lime Salsa (omg my new favorite salsa! I never thought I’d fine one to replace the deep love I have for the chipotle garlic salsa but I have!)
1 15-ounce can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 15-ounce can pinto beans, rinsed and drained
½ cup chopped onion
2 cooked, shredded chicken breasts (I just popped one giant one in the crock-pot with the rest of the jar of salsa and it was perfect!)
Tortilla chips, crumbled
Mexican cheese, shredded
Sour cream, optional
Sliced avocado, optional

Throw everything except chips and cheese into a pot and bring to boil, then simmer for 10 minutes. Serve into bowls. Top with chips and cheese and any other toppings your little heart desires. EAT!

~ by spontaneoustruth on November 2, 2011.

One Response to “TJ’s Chicken Tortilla Soup”

  1. Sounds and looks yummy!
    When I saw the title, I was secretly hoping it was Tijuana Chicken Tortilla Soup.

Leave a Reply

