Skillet Butternut Squash Lasagna

I’ve been all over the squash extravaganza this fall! The hubs wasn’t so sure he was a fan of this current craze of mine and I’ve been determined to change his mind. This meal was just the ticket for butternut squash love! Extra points because we got to use our cast-iron skillet to bake it (that always makes life more fun). And it just tasted so darn good. The leftovers didn’t last long!

In all honesty, the photos of individual slices didn’t look super appetizing since it kind of fell apart after I sliced…but, trust me, it’s good! Especially when served alongside our favorite rolls.

Skillet Butternut Squash Lasagna

Adapted from You’ve Got Supper

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 large yellow onions, diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 pound italian turkey sausage, casings removed
4 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/4 cup flour
3 cups milk
1 cup parmigiano-reggiano cheese, grated
1/4 cup parsley
1 tablespoon sage, minced
9 lasagna noodles, cooked
3-pound butternut squash, peeled and sliced

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
2. For sausage mixture: In a large nonstick skillet over medium-heat, cook onions for 8 minutes. Add garlic. Season with salt and pepper. Cook for 1 minute. Remove from pan and set aside. Cook sausage, stirring and crumbling until brown, about 10 minutes. Add to onion mixture.
3. For sauce: In saucepan, melt butter over medium heat. Add flour and stir for 1 minute. Slowly stir in milk. Increase heat to med-high and cook for 10 minutes. Remove from heat and transfer to bowl. Stir in 3/4 cup of cheese, 1/4 c of parsley and sage. Season with salt and pepper.
4. Assemble lasagna: Spread 1/3 cup of sauce on bottom of fry pan. Top with layer of 3 noodles. Top with 1/3 cup of sauce, 1/3 cup of sausage mixture, and layer of squash slices. Repeat layering 5 more times, replacing squash layer with noodles after every 2 layers of squash. Top with remaining sauce and cheese.
6. Bake 45 minutes. Let stand for 15 minutes before serving.

~ by spontaneoustruth on November 1, 2010.

4 Responses to “Skillet Butternut Squash Lasagna”

  1. Oh my!!! I finally tried this (you know I love my squash ravioli, so the minute I saw this recipe I knew I was going to have to try it!). SO good. I made two modifications – one by accident and one on purpose. The accidental one was that I pureed the squash before I realized it should have been sliced. I was thinking of ravioli, what can I say? The on purpose one was to add a good shake of ground nutmeg (probably a tsp) to the bechamel. I adore squash and nutmeg together, so I thought this would be a good addition. The texture was probably not quite the same as yours, since I had layers of pureed squash, but the flavor was AH-MAZING!!! Thanks for sharing, chica! 😉

    • Yay!!! So glad you liked it. We loooved it. So fun to make it in the skillet, too. I bet it’s really good with pureed squash. I might have to try it that way next time.

      • Oh yeah… Our skillet still needs to be deep cleaned and re-seasoned. It belonged to a friend of the family and was in their shed outside for 10 or 15 years before we got it! So we just used a baking dish and it worked just fine. My only issue with the pureed squash was that it was a lot of squish – puree + sausage + sauce. But I guess that’s sort of how a “regular” lasagna is (with the squash instead of ricotta cheese). Either way it was fantastic. And I will be making it again 😉

  2. […] out there: this is NOT my own original recipe!  It came to me by way of my good friend Jennie at Spontaneous Truth.  She adapted it from You’ve Got Supper.  I adapted it from […]

Leave a Reply

