Turkey and Millet Stuffed Peppers

I used to love making stuffed peppers growing up but the first time I tried it out as an adult it was major kitchen fail. So I’ve been hesitant to bake them again even though I love eating them! But when we pulled these big, beautiful sweet red bell peppers off our little patio plant, I knew instantly I had to stuff them!

I couldn’t find a recipe that I wanted to try so instead made up my own. We’d recently bought some millet to try out for the first time and this seemed like a great time to do so! Oh my gosh, I LOVE MILLET!! This stuff is amazing. I love trying out new grains and am always surprised when I find something fantastic that I never knew existed before! This is one of those instances. Millet is a yummy nutty grain and really high in protein, vitamin B, folic acid, iron, and potassium. Almost all my favorite things! Just makes this good stuff even better.

I also had some ground turkey on hand so added that to the filling. YUM! This was a great combo. We kept eating the filling straight out of the pan (true confessions time). Fortunately, there was leftover filling (oh, darn!) and I made a delicious wrap with it (and a fried egg!) the next day for lunch. Hello, awesomesauce!

Just check out these beautiful peppers and how they grew!

Turkey and Millet Stuffed Peppers

1 pound ground turkey
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 onion, chopped
3 big cloves garlic, chopped
1 cup millet, rinsed
2 teaspoons chili powder
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon garlic powder
4 tablespoons tomato paste
2 cups chicken broth
3/4 cup shredded mozzarella, divided
4 large red bell peppers

Preheat oven to 375.

In a large skillet over medium high heat, brown the turkey until cooked. Drain oil and place to the side in bowl.

Reheat skillet over medium-high heat and add oil, then chopped onion and garlic. Cook, stirring occasionally, until softened and fragrant, about 5 minutes. Add millet and next 6 ingredients, through tomato paste, stirring occasionally, until millet browns, about 3 minutes. Add broth to skillet and stir, then cover and lower heat to a simmer, 20 minutes.

While millet cooks, prep peppers by cutting out tops and insides, keeping peppers whole. Place in 8×8 baking dish and set aside.

When millet is ready, fluff with fork and stir in ground turkey and 1/2 cup mozzarella. Stuff peppers full of millet and turkey mixture. Place in center rack of oven and bake 15 minutes.

Remove from oven and top peppers with remaining cheese. Bake additional 5 minutes, until cheese is melted and just starting to brown. Enjoy!

~ by spontaneoustruth on September 22, 2010.

8 Responses to “Turkey and Millet Stuffed Peppers”

  1. I make a good stuffed pepper too, although with a chicken parmesan filling.
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/09/17/michaels-stuffed-bell-peppers-with-chicken-parmesan-filling/

  2. When you say millet, do you mean the same stuff I used to feed my cockatiels?

  3. I make a very similar recipe but I use quinoa and of course, no meat. I add chopped tomatoes to “beef” it up. Now I’m curious, I’ll have to try millet next time. 🙂

  4. PS. I also boil the peppers for about 5 minutes before stuffing and putting in the oven. It softens them very nicely.

    • Yum, quinoa would be delicious, too! I did think about softening them up first but we liked ours with a bit of crunch. 🙂 But that’s a great trick!

  5. I needed to comment cause everyone else was.

Leave a Reply

