Photo Fun!

Last weekend I spent three days in an intensive beginner’s photography workshop (and early bday prize from my mama!). Man, was it exhausting! Who knew thinking could wear you out so much. 😉 But it was great and I learned tons. I’ve been wanting to take classes for years (I took some in college but that was, sadly, quite a while ago now!) so this was a perfect opportunity.

We spent Saturday shooting at Balboa Park and learning all the technical stuff.

Some of my favorites from the day:

Segway ghosties!

We started out Sunday morning at the Antique Gas & Steam Engine Museum (which I had no idea even existed in my area, but it is incredibly cool!) working on combining composition techniques and the technical stuff. Not easy to do! But it was fun traipsing around checking out all the old trains, trucks and tractors. There’s some amazing things there.

A few of my faves:

After the museum, we moved on to the nearby Mission San Luis Rey. This is one of my favorite spots! Ironically, I used to take photos here regularly back in my journalism days, but this was quite a different experience.

Beautiful mission!

Learning to stop water. Looks like a demented ice sculpture!

That’s a wrap! We’ve graduated. 🙂

Now by no means will I ever be a professional, but I had fun learning how to better use my camera and how to take nicer photographs. Should make sifting through this blog better for you all (no pressure,  haha).

~ by spontaneoustruth on August 4, 2010.

One Response to “Photo Fun!”

  1. […] to plan monthly photography dates so we don’t forget all the mad skills we learned in our workshop over the summer. This month’s was to the annual Wavecrest Woodie Car Show in […]

Leave a Reply

