Potato Leek Pizza

If you’ve been hanging around long, you already know my deep love of all that is Pioneer Woman. And how much her cookbook rocks. I love her blog and read it religiously, but her cookbook just takes it to a whole new level! This is a recipe I’d been wanting to try ever since we got the book and we recently got both leeks and red potatoes in our CSA delivery. Well, who am I to mess with fate! I took it seriously and knew it was time to make this pizza!

And so glad I did. Now I just wonder what the heck took me so long. This is a rich pizza, but the flavors are amazing! I never would have thought to put potatoes (or leeks, for that matter) on a pizza but I won’t be making that mistake again. Delicious!

Now I don’t usually post pizza recipes, even though we make them all the time. I usually find them a little too easy to share, or not really a recipe and just throwing on whatever we have on hand or are craving. But I just had to share the fantastic wondrousness of this culinary delight! Couldn’t resist!

Potato Leek Pizza

Recipe courtesy The Pioneer Woman Cooks cookbook (find her droolworthy blog here)

6 slices bacon, cut into 1-inch pieces
3 leeks, rinsed well to remove grit and sliced thinly
Olive oil
5 small red or Yukon potatoes, sliced paper thin (I used red)
16 ounces mozzarella cheese, sliced thinly (I used shredded)
4 ounces crumbled goat cheese
Parmesan cheese, grated
Kosher salt
Pepper
Unbaked pizza crust (my staple is Trader Joe’s; I buy a bunch at a time and freeze ’em as they defrost great!)

Preheat oven to 500 degrees.

Prepare pizza crust and drizzle lightly with olive oil. Sprinkle lightly with salt.

Begin by placing bacon in a skillet over medium heat. Fry bacon until cooked but not crisp. Remove bacon from pan and set aside.

Pour off most of grease. Do not clean off skillet. Return skillet to stove and turn heat to medium-low.

Add leeks to the same pan and sauté over medium-low heat until soft, about 3 minutes. Remove from heat and set aside.

Using a sharp knife or mandoline, slice potatoes very thin. Arrange potatoes in a single layer all over crust, slightly overlapping edges.

Sprinkle potatoes lightly with salt, then lay mozzarella slices in a single layer over the top of the potatoes. (I just sprinkled my shredded mozzarella all over.)

Place sautéed leeks over the top of the cheese. Next, sprinkle the fried bacon pieces over the top, followed by a generous addition of crumbled goat cheese. Finally, sprinkle with freshly grated Parmesan and a sprinkle of freshly ground black pepper.

Bake pizza for 8 to 11 minutes, or until edges of crust are golden brown and cheese is melted and bubbly. Cut into wedges or squares and serve immediately.

~ by spontaneoustruth on June 25, 2010.

Leave a Reply

