Strawberry Ice Cream

I love making ice cream; I think it’s one of my favorite things to make in the kitchen. I absolutely love my ice-cream maker, too. It’s just the attachment bowl to my Kitchen-Aid mixer but it’s so easy to use and makes delicious frozen concoctions! I had a bunch of strawberries and was armed with my trusty Ben and Jerry’s Cookbook so decided to start summer a little early and make a yummy sweet treat.

This turned out SO well! I followed the instructions below but used a potato masher on the strawberries and didn’t puree them in a blender. I like to have some fruit chunks in my ice cream, but that’s just my preference. It came out great! Definitely will be making this again.

I told my husband I wanted to make it every week but he said then we’d each weigh 400 pounds and have to be air-lifted out of our beds someday. Is that really so bad???


Strawberry Ice Cream

Recipe courtesy Ben and Jerry’s

Makes 1 quart.

1 pint fresh strawberries, hulled and sliced
1/3 cup sugar
Juice of 1/2 lemon

Sweet Cream Base:
2 eggs
3/4 cup sugar
2 cups heavy or whipping cream
1 cup milk

1. Combine strawberries, sugar, and lemon juice in mixing bowl. Cover and refrigerate at least 1 hour.

2. Prepare Sweet Cream Base: Whisk eggs in mixing bowl until light and fluffy, 1 to 2 minutes. Whisk in sugar, a little at a time, then continue whisking until completely blended, 1 minute more. Pour in cream and milk and whisk to blend.

3. Mash strawberries to puree and stir into cream base.

4. Transfer mixture to ice-cream maker and freeze following manufacturer’s directions.

~ by spontaneoustruth on May 27, 2010.

One Response to “Strawberry Ice Cream”

  1. omg this sounds so good right now. Lol to the airlifted comments

Leave a Reply

