Angel Food Cake

I haven’t made this recipe in  years and now I don’t remember what possessed me to ever leave it behind. I forgot how good angel food cake is! Yum! I’ve had a brand-new angel food cake pan for a year and a half and finally got to put it to good use. I won’t be neglecting that piece of kitchen hardware again anytime soon. This cake is so easy to make, and comes out so perfectly. I whisked up some whipped cream and topped it with sliced strawberries for a delicious dessert.

Mmmmmm.

Angel food cake: my way.

And my husband’s way – sandwich style!

Angel Food Cake

1 cup cake flour
3/4 cup sugar
12 egg whites
1 1/2 teaspoons cream of tartar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3/4 cup sugar

1. Sift flour with sugar four times.

2. Beat egg whites with cream of tartar, salt and vanilla till stiff enough to form soft peaks but still moist and glossy. Add remaining sugar, 2 T. at a time, continuing to beat until meringue holds stiff peaks.

3. Sift about 1/4 of flour mixture over whites and fold in; fold in remaining flour by fourths.

4. Bake in ungreased 10-inch pan at 375 for 35 to 40 minutes.

~ by spontaneoustruth on May 17, 2010.

One Response to “Angel Food Cake”

  1. Wow it looks so great. The recipe looks easy, too. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

