Crab Won Tons

I have such love for Sam the Cooking Guy! I came across him on a local channel many years ago back when he sent out weekly emails to a mass email of followers. His recipes aren’t always the healthiest, but they are ALWAYS good!

I also have a bit of celebrity obsession with Sam. My fellow stalker, Becky, and I went to an expo solely to see him do a cooking demonstration one year. He made chicken enchiladas. We drooled so much that we had to go straight home and make his enchiladas. We were right. They’re totally droolworthy (maybe if you’re lucky I’ll post that recipe sometime soon…yum!). Afterward, we followed him through the crowds and begged for a photo.

Two starstruck stalkers…and Sam.

Another time I went to see him at a cookbook signing (buy it!) and the crowds were so crazy when Sam entered that he actually brushed against my husband’s shoulder…or maybe people were jostling so much that my hubby nearly took Sam down…but we’ll pretend that didn’t happen.

Despite these, ahem, brushes with cookery fame, you still gotta love this recipe! Crab cream cheese wontons are DELISH. Super easy and fun to make, and they’re baked so you can’t feel too guilty eating them. If I’m feeling lazy, I skip on making the sauce and use plum sauce to dip in instead.

Crab Won Tons

Makes: 30 wontons
Recipe courtesy Sam the Cooking Guy

4 ounces cream cheese, softened
3 green onions, sliced very thin
1 cup crabmeat
1 tablespoon hot pepper sauce
1 package wonton wrappers (round)
Dipping Sauce:
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1/4 teaspoon sesame oil
1 teaspoon sugar
1 teaspoon dried crushed red pepper flakes
1 teaspoon green onions, finely chopped

Preheat oven to 400.

Mix all ingredients well in bowl, except wrappers. Put about 1 1/2 teaspoon mixture in center of each wrapper. Dip fingertips in water and wet edges of wrapper lightly and fold in half; try to remove as much air as possible. Seal tightly and place wontons on baking sheet coated with cooking spray. Bake until they start to brown; should be 15 to 20 minutes.

While they cook, prepare dipping sauce by mixing all ingredients together; serve on side.

~ by spontaneoustruth on March 4, 2010.

5 Responses to “Crab Won Tons”

  1. Those look pretty tasty!

  2. My FAV Sam recipe! I love being your fellow celeb stalker 😉

  3. I’m uber jealous you got to meet him! I really want to take one of his classes but they are $$$$. 😦

  4. @Linds: They are so addicting and yummy! I ate a lot of them. A LOT.

    @Bex: This one is your fave?? I’ll make you some next time! Happy to always stalk local celebs with you. 🙂

    @Helena: I know, I am dying to take one of his classes! They always fill up soooo quickly. Some day we’ll have to do one together!

  5. That would be really fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

