Crunchy Chicken Fingers

I still can’t get over how delicious and moist this chicken dish was. Since stuffing mix is a main ingredient, I just want to run out and stock up while it’s still on sale and in season right now. This is a really easy recipe (if a bit messy) and it comes out wonderfully. I got it from a coworker who swears by it…and now I know why. This is going to be a regular feature on our dinner table in the future. We had this with mashed potatoes and green beans…true comfort cooking!

By the way, I was told that the Pepperidge Farm stuffing mix is the best for this recipe. I couldn’t find it so used another brand, but recently discovered that Costco has 3-packs of PF stuffing! That should last a while!

Crunchy Chicken Fingers

Serves: 8
Recipe courtesy Better Homes and Gardens (and adapted by my coworker)

8 mediums boneless skinless chicken breast halves
1 (8-ounce) carton sour cream
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1 teaspoon paprika
1/4 teaspoon celery salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 clove garlic, minced
1 (8-ounce) package (4 cups) Pepperidge Farm herb seasoned stuffing mix, coarsely crushed (not cubed)
1/4 cup butter, melted

1. Cut chicken into 3/4-inch wide strips; set aside. In a shallow bowl combine sour cream, lemon juice, Worcestershire sauce, paprika, celery salt, garlic and pepper.

2. Dip chicken strips into sour cream mixture; coat with crushed stuffing mix. Arrange chicken strips in two large shallow baking pans (pieces shouldn’t touch). Drizzle melted butter over chicken.

3. Bake, uncovered, in a 325 degree F oven about 60 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink.

~ by spontaneoustruth on December 4, 2009.

4 Responses to “Crunchy Chicken Fingers”

  1. Do you think the cubed stuffing would work if I chop it up in a food processor? I already have that kind so I’d prefer not to buy more. I’m excited to try this recipe, it looks so yummy1

  2. H: That’s pretty much exactly what I did with this one, too, and it came out great!

  3. Awesome. Thank you!

  4. why do I visit your blog when I am hungry? I want these now and it’s 9:30 am

Leave a Reply

