Thanksgiving and Pumpkin Pie Goodness

So we all know by now that Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday…and why is that people? Oh, yeah. There’s lots and lots of food. The reason it’s taken me so long to post about my Thanksgiving is because I’m still in food coma. There was a LOT of turkey. Specifically, a 29-pound bird for FOUR (count ’em, one, two, three, FOUR) people. It’s been six days and I’m still eating turkey every which way. But that just means I get to be really creative with my leftovers (stay tuned for that), so it’s still fun!

Check out our pretty Thanksgiving dinner table (yeah, we like to use Christmas linens on Turkey Day, so what? It’s all about the FOOD, not the tablescape!).


Time for true confessions. It’s a little-known (or maybe it’s well-known) family secret that one of the main reasons I married my husband is because he makes the best mashed potatoes ever. And mashed potatoes are one of my top favorite foods and one of the reasons Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. He loves them just as much as I do and I love that he makes them year-round (including the Saturday before Thanksgiving because he just couldn’t wait until Thursday to have them…which meant we had to do a last-minute dash to the store on Wednesday night to get more potatoes…but I digress).

Heavenly potatoes. Drooool.


I decided this year would be the year I broke tradition and didn’t make the Libby pumpkin pie recipe (gasp! horrors!). My friend Nina gave me her tried-and-true pumpkin pie recipe (from Paula Deen) to try and just reading it made me drool. Yum! It turned out really well. I made a lovely whipped cream on top (I seriously smothered my slice in it!) and it was delicious. The apple butter really adds a nice flavor and makes it so light and moist.

Mmmmmm, pie.


I also made amazing homemade rolls, but you’ll have to wait until tomorrow for me to brag about that (and I will be bragging, because these rolls are to die for…or drool). Instead, let’s go into pie coma one more time….


Apple-Pumpkin Pie

Recipe courtesy Paula Deen (and Nina!)

1 cup apple butter
1 cup fresh or canned pumpkin
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
3/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/8 teaspoon ground ginger
3 eggs, slightly beaten
3/4 cup evaporated milk
1 unbaked 9-inch pie shell
Sweetened whipped cream, for garnish

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

Combine apple butter, pumpkin, sugar, salt and spices in a bowl. Stir in eggs. Gradually add milk and mix well. Pour into pie shell. Bake for about 40 minutes or until set.

~ by spontaneoustruth on December 2, 2009.

2 Responses to “Thanksgiving and Pumpkin Pie Goodness”

  1. No mashed potato secrets? Oh well. The meal looks amazing – yum!

  2. Carrie, the secret is he uses a food mill! Makes them so fluffy and creamy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

