Sausage and Herb Stuffing

I can’t believe it’s already Thanksgiving week! This is, by far, my favorite holiday! I love to eat and what’s wrong with a day where that’s pretty much all you do? Yum! Bring on the stretchy pants ’cause I’m gonna need ’em!

To kick off this week of thanks, I celebrated with Thanksgiving #1! I was in charge of stuffing, something I’ve never made before. I found a yummy recipe and conquered it! This came out so well and I think I’ll definitely make it again year-round. The sausage, apple and cranberry blends so well together and something about sourdough bread is soooo sinful to me. Can you tell yet that stuffing is one of my favorite Thanksgiving foods? More soon on my all-time favorite!

Sausage and Herb Stuffing

Serves: 9
Recipe courtesy Barefoot Contessa (Ina Garten)

16 cups 1-inch bread cubes, white or sourdough bread (1 1/2 pound loaf)
1 stick unsalted butter
2 cups medium-diced yellow onions (2 onions)
1 cup medium-diced celery (2 ribs)
2 Granny Smith apples, unpeeled, cored, and large-diced
2 tablespoons chopped flat-leaf parsley
1 tablespoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon pepper
3/4 pound sweet or spicy italian turkey sausage, casings removed
1 cup chicken broth
1 cup dried cranberries

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F.

Place the bread cubes in a single layer on a sheet pan and bake for 7 minutes. Raise the oven temperature to 350 degrees F. Remove the bread cubes to a very large bowl.

Meanwhile, in a large saute pan, melt the butter and add the onions, celery, apples, parsley, salt and pepper. Saute over medium heat for 10 minutes, until the vegetables are softened. Add to the bread cubes.

In the same saute pan, cook the sausage over medium heat for about 10 minutes, until browned and cooked through, breaking up the sausage with a fork while cooking. Add to the bread cubes and vegetables.

Add the chicken stock and cranberries to the mixture, mix well, and pour into a 9 by 12-inch baking dish. Bake for 30 minutes, until browned on top and hot in the middle. Serve warm.

~ by spontaneoustruth on November 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

