Butternut Squash and Sage Soup

I’ve long been wanting to try my wannabe chef’s hand out on butternut squash soup. I’ve never even cooked with a butternut squash before, not to mention even bought one. I’m a newcomer to the squash party and only recently (think one year ago) decided I even really liked eating it. So now whole new world await me! I’ve also recently decided I love butternut squash soup (and almost all other soups, for that matter) so I was determined to tackle a recipe this fall.

I found this one by flipping through an issue of Bon Appetit. So this weekend I dove right into Squashland (not nearly as fun as Disneyland, just fyi). I love the light flavor and how the sage really comes through nicely. Yum! It was easier to make then I thought (thought peeling a squash is not as fun as it sounds…if peeling squash is your idea of wild Friday night entertainment). I even got my husband to enjoy it, and he didn’t think he liked butternut squash soup! One more point for the wife!

butternutsquash soup

Butternut Squash and Sage Soup With Sage Bread Crumbs

Serves: 6
Recipe courtesy Bon Appetit

Soup:
1 1/2 tablespoons butter
1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
2 cups chopped onions
2 tablespoons chopped fresh Italian parsley
2 teaspoons chopped fresh sage
4 cups 1/2-inch cubes peeled seeded butternut squash
1 1/2 teaspoons coarse sea salt
1 clove garlic, minced
5 to 6 cups chicken broth

Bread Crumbs:
2 crustless slices fresh whole-grain wheat bread, torn
4 teaspoons butter
1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh sage

Soup:
Melt butter with oil in large pot over medium-high heat. Add onions, parsley, and sage; saute until onion are softened, 5 minutes. Add squash and coarse salt; saute until squash softens and onions are golden, 6 minutes. Add garlic; stir 1 minute. Add 5 cups broth; bring to boil. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer until squash is very soft, 25 minutes. Cool slightly.

Working in batches, puree soup in blender, allowing some texture to remain. Return soup to pot. Thin with stock, if desired. Season with pepper and more salt, if desired.

Bread Crumbs:
Place bread in processor; blend until fine crumbs form but some flightly coarser crumbs remain. Cook butter in large nonstick skillet over medium heat until golden, 2 minutes. Add breadcrumbs and sage. Cook until crumbs are crisp, stirring frequently, 10 minutes. remove from heat and cool.

Ladle soup into bowls. Sprinkle with bread crumbs.

~ by spontaneoustruth on October 12, 2009.

2 Responses to “Butternut Squash and Sage Soup”

  1. I have had a butternut squash soup recipe in my “to try” pile for a long time and you inspired me to finally make it! Yum!

  2. It was so yummy; I ate it for lunch all week. 🙂 You must share your recipe!

Leave a Reply

