Slow Cooker Beef Stew

I love using my Crock-Pot. It’s one of my favorite kitchen items, mostly because it’s easy to use, easy to clean, and because I just love that inviting smell of dinner when I walk in the door and knowing I don’t have to do a thing because it’s already done and waiting for me! Yes, it’s perfect for when I feel lazy and unmotivated at the end of a workday. Which is probably more often than I’d like to admit.

This recipe is so easy. I chopped up the veggies the night before, threw it all in the pot in the a.m. before work, and came home to dinner! Reheats very well as leftovers, too. I’m determined to seek out many more new Crock-Pot recipes before fall turns to winter so stay tuned!

beef stew

Slower Cooker Beef Stew

Serves: 6

Adapted from AllRecipes.com

2 pounds beef stew meat, cut into 1-inch cubes
1/4 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1 clove garlic, minced
1 bay leaf
1 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1 onion, chopped
3 cups beef broth (2 cans)
3 potatoes, diced
4 carrots, sliced
1 stalk celery, chopped

1. Place meat in slow cooker. In a small bowl mix together the flour, salt, and pepper; pour over meat, and stir to coat meat with flour mixture. Stir in the garlic, bay leaf, paprika, Worcestershire sauce, onion, beef broth, potatoes, carrots, and celery.

2. Cover, and cook on Low setting for 10 to 12 hours, or on High setting for 4 to 6 hours.

~ by spontaneoustruth on October 11, 2009.

Leave a Reply

