Honey Cornbread

I’ve officially declared this fall to be the season I discover the perfect cornbread recipe.

I started making cornbread when I was 8 years old. I think it was the very first thing I ever baked on my own. My parents designated me the cornbread baker of the family so whenever we had it with dinner, I was in charge of making it. I quickly graduated from using the old Jiffy mixes to following the recipe on the cornmeal box, and I’ve used it for years to great success. So much so that I’ve been asked for my “secret” cornbread recipe. I feel like it’s such a letdown when I embarrassingly whisper that it’s the “one off the box.” Whoops.

I’ve used that old standby recipe for years, hardly deviating from it, but this fall I was struck by the desire to find an even better cornbread. Today marks the start of this endeavor.

Cornbread #1: Honey Cornbread

Sweet, flavorful, and definitely a good bread. Not as moist as I’d like and I hate that it includes a whole cup of heavy cream. But it was still nice and light and a possible contender for the grand prize. I may have to modify it a bit and try it again. I still recommend!

oct 020a

Honey Cornbread

Serves: 12
Recipe courtesy Back to the Cutting Board

1 cup flour
1 cup yellow cornmeal
1/4 cup sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 cup heavy cream
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup honey
2 eggs, lightly beaten

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees (F). Lightly grease a 9×9 inch baking pan. (I used 8×8 and it worked great.)

2. In a large bowl, stir together flour, cornmeal, sugar and baking powder.  Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients.  Add the cream, oil, honey and eggs; stir to combine.  Pour batter into prepared baking pan.

3. Bake in preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into center of pan comes out clean. (20 minutes hit it perfectly for me.)

~ by spontaneoustruth on October 7, 2009.

One Response to “Honey Cornbread”

  1. I’ll have to look at home for my cornbread recipe. I think it’s modified from the Better Homes & Gardens book. It’s super-duper easy, not very sweet, not full of cream, etc., and nice and moist. I also find that if you dump in either a bunch of fresh corn kernels, or, failing that, a can of corn (creamed corn works great too – just remove some of the liquid) it helps bring an interesting flavor and texture to the party. I also like using super-coarse cornmeal for a little crunch. If you don’t get it from me early next week remind me.

Leave a Reply

