Blackberry Pudding

blackberry pudding

This is one of the best desserts I’ve ever made! I can’t believe I didn’t used to like fruit in dessert. This recipe will change all of that! It’s so light and sweet and so addicting. The dough really reminded me of a shortcake by the consistency and taste and the blackberries baked wonderfully. I’ll definitely try this with other berries as well, or even a mixture.

And don’t let the title throw you off. It’s not really like a whipped pudding at all! It should be called Blackberry Bliss instead or something heavenly!

berry

Blackberry Pudding

Recipe courtesy One Ordinary Day

1 1/2 to 2 cups sugar, divided
1/3 cup unsalted butter, softened slightly
2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk
2 cups blackberries, fresh or frozen
2 cups boiling water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Cream 1 cup of sugar with the butter until fluffy.  Add the flour, baking powder, salt, and milk; mix well.  Pour into a glass baking dish.  (I used a deep 1 1/2 quart casserole dish.)  Pour blackberries on top of batter.  Boil 2 cups of water.  Add 1 cup of sugar to boiling water and pour over berries.  Bake approximately 50 minutes or until top is golden brown.  Allow to cool.

Note: My casserole dish was clear so when I took it out of the oven I could see the syrup/water mixture at least an inch high on the bottom of the dish. I panicked for a moment thinking I had totally screwed up but after it cooled and settled the water mixture thickened into a lovely syrup. Yay, I didn’t mess it up! Very happy.

~ by spontaneoustruth on September 26, 2009.

2 Responses to “Blackberry Pudding”

  1. This one sounds easy so I’ll probably make it! Thanks for the recipe.

  2. It’s super easy! I like quick and easy sweet fixes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

