Streusel-Topped Peach Pie

Time for true confessions. I don’t like pie. Pumpkin is good. Beyond that, no sir, no ma’am, no thanks. Now, I’m not going to ignore it if it’s right in front of me as the only dessert choice. I’m not that dumb. But given the choice of pie versus cake or cookies…well, pie is gonna sit it out.

Enter this pie.

Now my husband LOVES pie. And being the good wifey that I am, I try to bake things that I know he loves even if it’s not my favorite (this goes for all cooking; I even made him Brussel sprouts last week…and ate them, too…ick…if that’s not true love, I don’t know what is). But, I digress. Hubby loves pie. I make him pie. End of story.

Except it’s not. Because I LIKED this pie! It was so yummy fresh from the oven, and I topped it with a scoop of vanilla gelato and was quite the happy little baker. It’s also a really quick and easy recipe if you use a premade crust (which I did). I always keep a few in my freezer; I like the rolled up kind for easy storage and less breakage.

peachpieYeah, we ate it too fast for me to even grab a photo of the full pie! This slice of heavenly peachiness will have to suffice.

Streusel-Topped Peach Pie

Serves: 6
Recipe courtesy My Own Sweet Thyme

Streusel Topping:
2 tablespoons flour
2 tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoons toasted pecans or almond pieces
2 tablespoons butter

Pie Filling:
2 to 3 cups sliced peaches (3 peaches worth)
1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 1/2 tablespoons flour
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Fit the pastry into an 8-inch pie dish leaving an unfinished edge of 1 to 1½ inches of dough at the rim. Set aside.

Make the streusel topping: Place 2 Tablespoons each of flour, brown sugar, toasted nut pieces and butter in a small bowl. Mash together with a fork until crumbly. Place in refrigerator until ready to use.

Make the pie filling: Slice the peaches and toss with the lemon juice.

In a small bowl combine the brown sugar, flour and cinnamon. Sprinkle the mixture over the sliced peaches and stir to combine.

Assemble the pie: Pour the peach mixture into the prepared crust. Fold the unfinished edge loosely over the filling. Sprinkle the crust edge with coarse sugar if desired. Sprinkle the streusel evenly over the pie filling.

Bake in a preheated oven at 425 degrees for approximately 35 minutes or until the crust is golden brown.

Remove from oven. Serve warm with whipped cream or ice cream, if desired.

~ by spontaneoustruth on September 10, 2009.

2 Responses to “Streusel-Topped Peach Pie”

  1. With all this baking, how are you not obese?

  2. I work out just so I can eat well, haha. And I can feel it when I don’t; my clothes get tighter!

Leave a Reply

