Double-Chocolate Zucchini Bread

Zucchini have been running rampant through our household this summer, and we’ve developed a newfound love for this squash that previously wasn’t on the top favorites list. For some reason, I’m all about it this year!

Thus, I endeavored to make my first-ever zucchini bread. In order to bribe my husband to eat it, I added a LOT of chocolate. This turned out to be a pretty good idea, since I’m of the belief that adding chocolate to anything only makes it mo’ better.

bread

Double Chocolate Zucchini Bread

2 cups all-purpose flour (I used whole-wheat flour and it worked wonderfully)
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, sifted
1 cup sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2 large eggs
1/3 cup vegetable oil
3/4 cup buttermilk (I realized I didn’t have any buttermilk and just substituted 1 tablespoon lemon juice, plus enough milk to equal 3/4 cup; then let it sit for a good ten minutes before adding to batter)
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 medium zucchini, shredded (1 – 1 1/4 cups; I just shredded it in my mini food processor ’cause I was feeling lazy)
1 cup chocolate chips (I used 1/2 semisweet and 1/2 milk chocolate)
3/4 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350F. Lightly grease two 9×5-inch loaf pans.

In a large bowl, sift together flour, cocoa powder, sugar, baking powder and salt.

In a medium bowl, whisk together eggs, vegetable oil, buttermilk and vanilla. Add to dry ingredients and stir until almost fully combined. Add in the zucchini and chocolate chips and stir until evenly distributed in the batter (batter should be fairly thick).

zukesCheck out those pretty zukes, all ready to go!

Bake for 50-55 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean or with only moist crumbs attached.

Turn loaf out of pan and cool on a wire rack before slicing.

Makes 2 loaves.

Recipe courtesy of Baking Bites (and, I might add, one of my fave food blogs!)

~ by spontaneoustruth on July 26, 2009.

One Response to “Double-Chocolate Zucchini Bread”

  1. Yummmm… if it was good, I demand that you make me some!

Leave a Reply

