Sauteed Squash With Leeks

Get ready for a slew of recipes coming at you! I’ve been trying out lots of new ones with all the yummy summer veggies in season and we’ve been experimenting to great success. It’s really only fair that I share my culinary prowess with you, right? Right??

I’ve been happily adventuring through my local farmer’s market every week (I sense a whole post devoted to my beloved farmer’s market in the near future…) and grabbing up lots of fun, seasonal fruits and veggies to bring home. Sometimes, I end up a bit stumped as to what to do with said items.

Last week, it was leeks. I love leeks but I don’t cook with them very often. I opened up my trusty recipe program and search for “leeks.” Ta-da! Success! A recipe where I actually already have all the ingredients, it looks healthy, and it seems fairly quick and easy for our summer dinner.

We paired this with grilled tilapia fillets (just a little olive oil and salt and pepper) and grilled asparagus spears (also a farmers’ market find!). So delicious! I’m in love and plan to make it again, trying out different types of squash. I reheated the leftovers a few days ago and it was still fantastic, which is always a plus in my book (I love a good serving of leftovers; weird, I know).

Here’s dinner! The squash and leeks dish is on the bottom right (in case that isn’t completely obvious).

July 007

Sauteed Summer Squash With Basil and Feta

Serves: 6

*Can use with baby pattypan squash, thinly sliced zucchini or Mexican squash.

1 tablespoon olive oil
4 cups summer squash, thinly sliced (about 18 ounces)
2 cups sliced leeks (about 2)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper
3 tablespoons crumbled reduced-fat feta cheese (we skipped the cheese and it was still yummy!)
2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh basil

Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add oil to pan, swirling to coat; heat 20 seconds. Add squash and leek to pan; saute 5 minutes or until tender, stirring frequently. Stir in salt and pepper. Transfer squash mixture to a serving platter. Sprinkle with cheese (if desired) and basil.

YUM! Look at those babies cook! Such pretty color!

July 004

Recipe courtesy of Cooking Light.

~ by spontaneoustruth on July 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.