The Book of Lost Things

book-of-lost-things

The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly

I don’t usually do book reviews on here (though I think you all know by now that I’m a voracious reader) but I loved this book and thought it deserved a callout of its very own!

I wouldn’t call this a children’s novel, but it has a certain endearing childlike sense about it that reminds me of some of my favorite stories as a child. It’s a great tribute to the fairy tales of our childhoods, but the author writes with such a dark streak that it changes the original perception of the tales. Personally, I love that style of writing and reading different takes on original stories (Hello, Gregory Maguire!).

I won’t write out a synopsis here and risk giving away anything for those of you who don’t want to be spoiled (but you can click on the Amazon link above to learn more). Definitely a fun departure from my usual reads of late! I’m going to be looking up other books by John Connolly now for sure!

Now back to my other literary obsession of the month: Charlaine Harris’s Harper Connolly (a different kind of Connolly) series.

Happy reading! 🙂

~ by spontaneoustruth on July 20, 2009.

Leave a Reply

