Peach Cobbler

I need to start off this post with a disclaimer that I am extremely proud of myself for this (possibly minor) accomplishment and may tend to go off a bit about it. You have been warned.


I also have to preface this a bit by admitting the sad truth that I’ve never been much of a fan of dessert with fruit in it. I’m not a big pie person (gasp!), but I’ll always eat a slice of pumpkin and I rarely turn down warm berry pie with a nice scoop of ice cream (mmmm), but most other pie isn’t my cup of tea. Nor are many other desserts that include fruit (not all, but just most). Now, I’m not saying this always keeps me from eating dessert if fruity desserts are my only option…I’m not that discriminatory! But I’ll usually prefer my cheesecake plain instead of dribbled with cherries. I think it’s something about warm fruit that turns me off. I prefer mine raw!


So, because of this edible oddity, I’ve never actually made much fruity dessert. Until now. Behold…the cobbler.


A few weeks ago, I came across a recipe that I immediately flagged for urgent future use. For some reason this summer, I am highly drawn to desserts using fresh, seasonal fruit. The recipe called for nectarines, but noted that any seasonal fruit will do. And do, I did!


By the way, this recipe comes from the blog of Joy the Baker, one of my new favorites! Check her out!


foodfun 006

Easy Peach and Cream Cobbler (formerly, Nectarine)


By Joy the Baker (who adapted it from the Pastry Queen)

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
Pinch cloves
Pinch nutmeg
3/4 cup milk (I used 2% to great effect)
3 cups sliced peaches, skins left on
1/3 cup firmly packed brown sugar

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Pour the butter into an 8-inch or 9-inch square baking dish.

In a medium bowl, stir together the granulated sugar, flour, baking powder and spices. Add milk and stir.

Pour the mixture on top of the melted butter. Here’s the hard part: Do not stir! Without mixing, arrange the fruit evenly over the top of the batter. Sprinkle with brown sugar.

Bake the cobbler for 40 to 45 minutes, until the top turns golden brown. Amazingly, the batter will migrate from the bottom of the pan to cover the fruit (really, it will!). Serve warm with slightly sweetened whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.

Recipe courtesy: Joy the Baker

foodfun 008

Sweetened Whipped Cream

My own recipe!

1 cup whipping cream
2 tablespoons powdered sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

In small bowl, beat cream until soft peaks form. Blend in sugar and vanilla; beat until stiff peaks form. Serve on top of cobbler.
~ by spontaneoustruth on July 13, 2009.

One Response to “Peach Cobbler”

  1. drooling

Leave a Reply

