Lemon-Blueberry Muffins

I’ve been holding out on my baking for a bit after my husband complained he was gaining weight (and declared it was my fault…personally, I blame all the cookies he ate; just ’cause I made them didn’t mean he had to eat them all but at least he likes my cooking so I can’t complain too much). But it was time to break out the mixer again and make these delicious muffins for a work breakfast potluck.

This was a new recipe for me but I have a feeling it’s going to stick around for a while. These came out so light and the flavor of the lemon zest and berries really comes through nicely. I actually found this recipe because it came with my Pampered Chef 12-Cup Muffin Stoneware (which I love, by the way). I’ve always liked Pampered Chef recipes because they make the perfect amount and are usually yummy.

Oh, and sorry for the crappy picture. I totally forgot to take a photo when they came out of the oven (someone tempted me with frozen yogurt and I fled the house as if it was on fire to get my dessert!) and had to use my cell phone to capture this shot … and my phone really sucks.

The only change I made to the recipe was to use my Pampered Chef Dulce de Leche Sprinkles in place of the cinnamon and sugar topping. It worked out great!

muffins

Lemon-Blueberry Muffins

Serves: 12
Recipe courtesy: The Pampered Chef

2 cups flour
1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar, divided
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 tablespoon lemon zest
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup fresh blueberries, rinsed and drained
3/4 cup butter or margarine, melted
3/4 cup milk
1 egg
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

1. Preheat oven to 400. In large bowl, combine flour, 1/4 cup sugar, baking powder, lemon zest and salt; mix well. Add blueberries and toss gently.

2. Lightly brush cups of a 12-cup muffin pan with butter; reserve remaining butter. In medium bowl, whisk remaining butter, milk, and egg. Add milk mixture to dry ingredients; mix just until dry are moistened (batter will be slightly lumpy). Do not overmix.

3. Divide batter evenly among muffin cups. Combine 2 tablespoons sugar and cinnamon; sprinkle over muffins.

4. Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until tops golden brown and wooden pick comes out clean. Remove from oven to cooling rack. Cool 5 minutes; remove from pan. Serve warm.

~ by spontaneoustruth on July 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

