What to Do, What to Do

Okay, I need help! I’ve been struggling with this annoying issue for a while now, and it’s time to make it public. We have a random loft area in our house and I’ve long needed to put something there (coughtwoyearscough). It’s really starting to bug me. The previous owners just had some fake greenery and plants, which looked okay, but I want to do better. This is on my list of little house projects to get done this summer and I’d love to cross it off.

So, any ideas what I can do with it? It’s too high up to really reach anything without a ladder so I’d like to do something no-hassle (no real plants or things that will get super dusty) but it’s also so high that you wouldn’t be able to see anything smallish (picture frames, knickknacks, etc.). So, my talented and creative friends, tell me your ideas! I promise to post a blog and photos of the completed project!

Sorry for the crappy picture, my camera did something weird.

loft 003

~ by spontaneoustruth on June 16, 2009.

11 Responses to “What to Do, What to Do”

  1. Large found objects (when I had one of those I put up some cool-looking but inexpensive things like a big water pitcher and a large fake compass; you could do colored glass or old china or…). Or a canvas of a wide photo/painting that you like. Or a long mirror, to reflect light into the room. Or some old fixtures – lamps or windows or something – from a shop that sells them (there’s one in Little Italy).

    You could also really do more of just something in the corner near the window to balance out the space (with the fan where it is you could get away with doing that); I do think a fake plant might look nice and they have some decent ones at Michael’s.

    Good luck!

  2. Whoa I have never even noticed that loft area! Can I live up there? 😛

    I like Elisa’s idea for the mirror or large photos. You could prop up a few canvas wraps, that would look cool!

  3. Love these ideas; keep ’em coming!

    E: I like the mirror and old found objects ideas. I may have a shopping trip in my future now! Thanks for all the help; I knew you’d have some good ideas. 🙂

    Mel, haha and you were just here and you still missed it? LOL!

  4. Yeah, I was going to say maybe a trio of big vases and a large pretty plate of some sort. You know, how you can buy those platter type things that stand up? That’s what I envision. =) Have fun shopping!

  5. It might be kind of cool to paint up there too. Like maybe accent the back wall of the loft? It’s a pretty big space so maybe the added color will give the illusion of it being fuller without having to put a million pieces of “junk” lol. I think you can get buy with a couple big things.

  6. http://www.ehow.com/how_4779947_decorate-plant-shelves-home.html

    Birdhouses, copper pots or baskets are ideas I found.

    http://www.ehow.com/how_4825195_arrange-plant-shelf.html

    The second link has a picture of a bird cage that looks neat. Have fun, I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  7. I was going to suggest vases in all different shapes, sizes & colors. Some that don’t pick up the sight of dust easily (even though they may be dusty). Looks like a fun space to play with 🙂

  8. Oooh, painting is tempting! Great ideas, guys! You are all so helpful!! I can’t wait to start playing with my space!

  9. What about big old antique looking books stacked in different directions (vertical and horizontal) and maybe one green plant and a vase. I just saw a decorating show where she had old looking books on the shelves. I’m picturing the big old Harry Potter library kinda books

  10. […] bedroom -get some new wall hangings for the front entrance -eventually decorate our loft (Remember this post? Yeah, I suck and it’s still pretty empty.) -who […]

  11. […] this space issue I posted about a while back (coughtwoyearsagocough)? I was struggling to find a solution to a giant […]

Leave a Reply

