Another Tofu Risk Taken!

I’ve been a longtime fan of HungryGirl (which I blogged about back in the early days) and they are always raving about Tofu Shirataki noodles as a replacement for pasta. I’ve LONG been skeptical of this product because HOW could it be good? It’s tofu instead of spaghetti. And I love me my carbs.

But I’m also intrigued as HG is rarely wrong in my book. So I tried it out. And was pleasantly surprised! I wouldn’t mistake this stuff for pasta, but it’s still tasty and absorbs the flavor well. And it’s a great substitute for pasta; fewer carbs, more protein, yay! I’ve had it a couple of times now (gotta try out all the different noodle types) and each time it’s been great so I figured it was time to share.

food 006

Fettuccine Hungry Girlfredo

151 calories, 4.5g fat, 407mg sodium, 20g carbs, 7g fiber, 7g sugars, 9g protein — POINTS® value 3*

1 package House Foods Tofu Shiratake Noodles, Fettuccini Shape
1/2 cup broccoli
1/2 cup red bell peppers chunks
1/2 cup large zucchini chunks
1 (8-ounce) wedge Laughing Cow Light Original Swiss cheese (I’ve also used the garlic-herb LC version in a pinch and it works well, too, just adds the garlic flavor)
1 tablespoon fat-free sour cream
2 teaspoons reduced-fat Parmesan cheese
Salt
Pepper
Optional:
Garlic powder
Chili powder

Note: I also added grilled chicken slices, and any other veggies I had on hand (sugar snap peas and grape tomatoes, yum!).

Place all the veggies in a medium-sized microwave-safe bowl with 2 tbsp. of water. Cover bowl and microwave for 2 – 3 minutes (until veggies are fully steamed and tender). Drain water and set aside.

Drain and rinse noodles well. Dry noodles thoroughly (use paper towels to soak up as much moisture as possible), and then use a knife or kitchen shears to slice them up a bit. Next, place noodles in a microwave-safe bowl, and top them with the cheese wedge, sour cream, and parm topping. Then microwave for one minute.

Stir well, and then microwave for one additional minute. Mix in the veggies, and season well with salt and pepper. If you like, add some garlic powder and/or chili powder.

*Recipe from HungryGirl.

~ by spontaneoustruth on June 5, 2009.

2 Responses to “Another Tofu Risk Taken!”

  1. So.. when are you cooking for the betas? All of your recipes look so dang good!

  2. Uh-oh, you want to put me to the test? Hehe. One day I will!

Leave a Reply

