Turkey Time

Our Thanksgiving was a wonderful day. The sun was finally out (though it was still pretty cold by Southern California standards) and we kicked off our day with our traditional walk at the zoo with friends. The animals were lively and I nearly came home with a stolen koala (what? He was that cute!). We spent the rest of the day reading, relaxing and helping to prepare dinner before finally setting down to EAT! Yum!

But this post isn’t really about Thanksgiving. Instead, it’s about the first turkey we’ve ever made! And it was pretty successful, too. Woo-hoo!

In the days before Thanksgiving we hit up the grocery sales and got ourselves a 12-pound turkey, a bag of cranberries, a box o’ dressing, and a 10-pound bag of potatoes. Just for the two of us. Yep, we’re crazy. So Thanksgiving weekend we prepped the kitchen, pushed up our sleeves, and set about making our own little Thanksgiving dinner…solely because we like leftovers. Not kidding. J looooooves leftover turkey. To the point that I have to fight to keep some of it for myself! So 12 pounds might have actually been too small, ha.

We’d just finished watching Bobby Flay’s Throwdown with Pioneer Woman and knew we wanted to make one of their turkey recipes. In the end Bobby won out, since his took less prep time/work. But next year we’re definitely trying PW’s!

And Bobby’s recipe turned out so delicious! YUM! I couldn’t stop eating the turkey. Maybe it’s because of all the butter we rubbed all over it. Think I’m kidding?

Green butter:

And then the bird was done (and pretty darn gorgeous, too)!

We also made creamy yummy mashed potatoes, Bobby’s sage gravy (omg), and my mom’s cranberry sauce. Yay, Thanksgiving Part II!

Oh, and Pepperidge Farm dressing…we were too lazy to make our own.

And that cranberry sauce? It was my grandmother’s recipe and my mom made it every year while I was growing up. It’s so easy and SO good. But this was the first time I made it without her supervision, so we were pretty happy it turned out so well.

simmer, simmer, simmer

Cranberry Sauce

1 1/2 cups port (this is why it’s so good)
1 cup sugar
1 16-ounce bag cranberries

Combine port and sugar in medium saucepan over medium-high heat and stir until sugar is dissolved. Bring to a boil and boil five minutes. Add cranberries and cook until skin begins to pop. Cook about five minutes more. Remove from heat.

And that was our Fake Thanksgiving 2010! See ya next year!

~ by spontaneoustruth on December 3, 2010.

6 Responses to “Turkey Time”

  1. Fun! So this was a second thanksgiving you guys had just the two of you, and you did one with your fam? We talked about doing that too and now I’m sad we didn’t. I guess it’s not too late right? I totally want to make my own turkey dinner for us! I was deprived of leftovers too… Feel for Jason. hehe.

    • Yep, in the end we basically had three Thanksgivings! But we are almost out of turkey and kinda want to get another…lol. Obsessed! I bet you could still do it! They are so cheap this time of year. Our 12-pounder was $5! I just couldn’t say no to that.

  2. That is a good deal! Can you buy whole turkeys at the store year-round? I’ve never even thought to look haha!

    I was so mad at myself for missing the PW throwdown episodes when they aired so this weekend I tried to find it online, to no avail. I ended up having to pay $2 to download it via itunes. haha! Anyway, I’m totally pumped now to make a thanksgiving! I think I want to do PW’s turkey (cause I really want to try a brine), her mashed potatoes, his brussel sprouts, his gravey, and probably boxed stuffing like you. Boxed stuffing is good anyway! Oh and some cran sauce of course. I might have to make a sweet potato mash as well so I can make the turkey cake with leftovers. =P

    • I think you can get them year-round, but doubt they will always be this cheap.

      Ummmm, totally jealous of your Fake Thanksgiving! Let me know if you need help eating your turkey…or even the turkey cake. ;)

  3. [...] is best with leftover turkey, and super easy and quick to make. And it’s delicious. So, with 12 pounds of turkey to eat, this recipe was at the top of my list for using up leftovers (also making the cut is the [...]

  4. [...] again, as last year, we went with Bobby Flay’s turkey recipe. It creates the crispiest, tastiest skin and moist, light turkey. [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.